Edward Marston’s -The Railway Detective Series


I’ve finished reading the first three novels in Edward Marston’s Railway series. Well written and plotted, featuring fully drawn characters, I am delighted to have discovered this series while doing research for a second blog I write, Mainstreetrockymount.com. The railroad is an important part of the Rocky Mount, NC story.  I highly recommend you give this series a try. Amazon is offering the first book on Kindle at a great price. Here is the link:

The Railroad Detective is set in 1851. The London to Birmingham mail train is stopped and derailed, injuring the driver. Inspector Colbeck is faced with the first crime of its kind, a daring, well-organised train robbery involving the railway company, the postal service, the Royal Mint and the bank where a large amount of gold coin is headed. The Railway Detective, 1st in this series, introduces Robert Colbeck, an Inspector in the Detective Department of the Metropolitan Police at Scotland Yard, a department still in its infancy. A former barrister, Colbeck abandons his career after a personal tragedy to join the police. He has an abrasive relationship with his superior, a former soldier, Superintendent Tallis. The Superintendent seems to recognize the Inspector’s rare gifts as a detective, but I doubt they are destined to be real friends. All of Colbeck’s cases are connected with the railways in Victorian England.


When a body is found on the Great Western Railway excursion train, Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck and his assistant, Sergeant Victor Leeming, are dispatched to the scene. Again the story is set in Victorian England and is rich in historical detail. Colbeck loves trains and his enthusiasm for this new form of travel is fascinating to read about. I found the second  book just as hard to put down, enjoying a mystery that that I could not solve on my own.





As a train speeds over the Sankey Viaduct, the dead body of a man is hurled into the canal below. Inspector Robert Colbeck and Sergeant Victor Leeming take charge of their most complex and difficult case yet. The case takes on an international dimension, as the Inspector and Leeming head to France where a series of vicious attacks on the rail link that is being built by British navies is taking place.

Series titles:

The Railway Detective – The Excursion Trail – The Railway Viaduct –The Iron Horse – Murder on the Brighton Express- The Silver Locomotive Mystery – Railway to the Grave – Blood on the Line – The Stationmaster’s Farewell – Peril on the Royal Train

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year as we begin 2016. Think of all the wonderful books we will discover this year. Looking forward to you company on the blog in this coming year. I hope you will share it with your friends. Be sure to leave your comments about books you recommend. Stepheny


About Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin grew up in Evanston, IL. and is a graduate of the University of Kentucky. She is an author of two novels: The Greening of a Heart and Facing East. She lives, writes and gardens in NC. Visit her: Stephenyhoughtlin.com
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Edward Marston’s -The Railway Detective Series

  1. dino0726 says:

    There’s someone on Shelfari that absolutely loves this series. I have it on my TBR — with about 1,000 other novels screaming for my attention. 🙂

  2. noelleg44 says:

    Happy New Year to you, Stepheny. I am definitely going to download the first of these books. They sound wonderful. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s